Green Blanket

Green Blanket

Aix-en-Provence, the City of a Thousand Fountains, captured my heart back in 2015.  During the course of my 5 month stay, I eventually managed to track down and capture a significant amount of these beauties and start my own visual collection featuring the magnificent fountains of Aix-en-Provence.

This particular gem, covered in a fuzzy blanket of forest green moss, dates back to approximately 1666.  Located at the end of the Cours Mirabeau, the fountain of hot water (Fontaine Moussue) was a landmark for my first few days navigating the city, with no WiFi and no map to guide me! Despite all the twists, turns, narrow roads, and getting lost, I always knew that once I’d reached the moss covered fountain, I could easily find my way back home. The fountain was somewhat of a security blanket for a newbie like me.

I guess it’s worth mentioning that after just a few weeks in the small town of Aix, I no longer needed any more landmarks to find my way around. I came to know the pathways like the back of my hand.

Watch this space as I plan my return to one of my favorite little towns on earth!

 

 

 

 

Blanket

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

